Day 13: Final Exam Review

Tomorrow is the Semester 1 Final Exam. We spent all of today reviewing. I had some games and then the last hour was given to them to review on their own using their assessments, supplemental review worksheets I made, and their review packet that I gave and I was there to answer questions.

All files are attached at the bottom of the post. Most winnings were candy (thank you amazon for this and this) and math pride.

I started with Jeopardy to review parallel lines and angle-sum theorems. This is something I made while student teaching and I do it with teams. I printed the slides so that if a group got it incorrect, another group could steal the points. I also added a “daily double” worth 1000 points (because I said it makes sense) to one of the 100 point questions to really throw them for a loop.

Next, I had Last Man Standing to review triangle congruence. This game is class vs. teacher. The class receives the prize of the last man that is left in the grid. I pair students up and then call on the pairs one at a time to pick which man to take out. The class is then responsible for asking the question that is behind that guy. There are some bad prizes (high five, fist bump, homework pass in my class since I don’t grade homework) and some better ones (extra credit, candy, extra break time). The class gets really into it at the end when you only have a few left.

Next, we played Dan Meyer’s Mathketball to review special segments in triangles. I play class vs. teacher. This one has kids asking why we don’t do this every day. I always hype it up by saying I was a starter on the basketball team when I was in high school (which was the same high school as about half of them – and their girl basketball team recently won sectionals). Then when I take my first shot granny-style I point out that I started sophomore year on my 7-girl team. Today, I actually was ahead for a good amount because the kids all insisted on taking the far shot and they could not make it. I have never seen so many scrap paper balls hit the rim of a recycling bin before. But they did end up winning.

Finally, we did a Trail activity to review quadrilaterals. In this version, the answers are somewhere else around the room that the students have to find. Students all write the letter that is next to the answer once they find it, and the teacher can check by seeing if the order is correct regardless of where they started. The teacher really doesn’t need to check if the student got through all 10 questions without repeating. I like this activity because it gets students moving and talking to different students depending on where they end up in the trail.

Trail Activity
Files:

Je m’amuse bien en classe quand les étudiants s’amusent!

2 thoughts on “Day 13: Final Exam Review

Leave a Reply

