Day 28: Final Review (2)

Today is the last day before the second semester final exam. I have a bunch of activities planned for final review days and then I also usually let the students have at least an hour of free review where they can work on their semester review packet as well as ask me any questions. All the activities I list are attached at the bottom of the page.

Activity 1 was Tic-Tac-Toe with similarity problems. I displayed a 3×3 board and split the class into 2 teams. Usually I can say girls against boys but I have only 3 girls and 14 boys this year…even so, the girls wanted to show the boys they could beat them. I then had a student from each team play rock paper scissors to decide who goes first and that group picked a box to start in. The goal was to win Tic-Tac-Toe, but you could only get the square if you answered the question correctly, and the other team could steal it if you got it incorrect. It’s always surprising to me how competitive a simple game like Tic-Tac-Toe can be (especially without it being Ultimate Tic Tac Toe). It ended up being 1 to 1 after two games, but still fun.

   
 Then, I had another trail (can you tell I like those?) for trig that was really just basic solving triangle stuff. There are two “tracks” in this one so I had to make sure the students were just staying on their track the whole time.

I also did another round of Last Man Standing for surface area, volume, and area review, but this time I added a box where they could see how much of each item there was. That way they couldn’t be surprised if something not-so-great was the last thing they revealed.

I then had another Roundtable review for circles, angles, and arcs.

I was planning on having some time for Mathketball or Grudgeball but we didn’t have time…I had promised an hour at the end to do their own review and ask me any questions and many used that time wisely. We’ll see how their final exams go tomorrow.

Downloads:

Il y a trop de choses de faire avant le début de l’école!

Leave a Reply

