Google Classroom #MTBoS30

My school is one to one with Chromebooks this year. It was the first time the school has this technology and my first time using it. My old school had a cart of Chromebooks we could check out but the math department didn’t get to use it too much. There has been a lot to learn about using Chromebooks in class, but I think the best thing about having them after Desmos is Google Classroom. I have all my classes set up and National Honor Society, as well. It is a great place to keep assignments, and students get very used to checking it daily since all of their classes are on it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 9.56.42 AM

I set up my About page to have links that students would go to very frequently.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 9.58.00 AM

Then, in the Stream is where I put announcements and assignments. I use assignments way more often than announcements because they get more attention.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 9.58.40 AM

It is really easy for students to find assignments and turn them in. You can also leave comments for them and then students can unsubmit the assignment and resubmit when ready. The “Make a copy for each student” feature is awesome for distributing worksheets. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go paperless unless I have tablets to write math notation on, but Google Classroom has saved a lot of paper.

Another awesome feature is the extension Share to Classroom. This allows you to send a website to every student in a class as long as they have the extension, too. Want every student to have your pre-filled Desmos Activity on their screen right now? Push it to their Chromebook. Want to have every student do your Weekly Summary now? Push it to their Chromebook. A student wants to send you a website right now? They can push it to your computer, but it will just send you a notification.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 9.23.24 AM

I know that some people do not like Share to Classroom because it opens a new tab automatically. It’s an invasion of their privacy or something like that. But frankly, I don’t care (I feel like I’m channeling my inner Fawn here)…if students are on their Chromebooks in my class then it’s for a specific reason. If I need them to be on a website that they’re not on and I don’t want to waste 5 minutes making sure everyone put a backslash instead of a forward slash or getting everyone to go to a link I posted on Google Classroom, then I’ll use Share to Classroom. I don’t use Share to Classroom for any other reason or outside of my class.

I’ve recently been saving a lot of the posts that Alice Keeler @alicekeeler has been tweeting about Google Classroom (and all things Google in general). I can’t wait to use some of the things she’s been mentioning. Check her page out if you haven’t yet!

J’aime quand la technologie fonctionne et quand elle aide avec chaque classe.

 

One thought on “Google Classroom #MTBoS30

Leave a Reply

