Beginning of Year (Very Rough) Plans

#MTBoS Blaugust, because I said I like a blogging challenge…

MTBOSBlaugust2016

School starts Wednesday for students. I have some ideas about how the first three days are going to go but no finalized plans yet because I just can’t get myself to do it. :

  • I am standing outside of door and high-fiving students as they walk in
  • On my board are directions, possibly start using music cues
  • Dan Meyer Who Am I worksheet

I really like Sara VenDerWerf’s ideas she lists here, too.

Any thoughts?

Je ne suis pas prête.

12 thoughts on “Beginning of Year (Very Rough) Plans

  1. Love your list! I used Boaler’s Number Dot last year. My Algebra 2 kids liked it! As far as Desmos goes … why not try the Desmos’ team’s creations … Central Park or WaterLine … make great discussion starters and you’ll get a glimpse of your students’ perseverance and knowledge.

    Like

  2. Much coolness. I’ve been using the Megan Golding version of the Who Am I sheet, (I think I have like 3 different MTBoS superstar Info sheets on my flash drive). I’m starting at a new school this year so for the first time in about 9 years I will know zero of my incoming students. I think the Coordinate Activity is going to be an ideal first or second day plan.

    Like

  3. I LOVE the 31 derful activity. I am wondering if instead of do it as individual groups…what if each kid was assigned a card (one with 2 cards) to make up 25 and they had to communicate with everyone in the class?? That might be a bit much but that would force them to talk to EVERYBODY on the first day! haha and work together 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

