Weekly Summaries and Class Twitter

I’ve written about my Weekly Summaries before. I still do them but I’ve updated them a little. Now, the questions are:

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-9-28-12-pm

  1. What did you learn in class this week?
  2. What activities did you do in class this week?
  3. How are you feeling about math class?
  4. Type your tweet (I am following after Annie Forest with her class tweets)
  5. Other comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

When they click submit, their parents (if they have given the school or me an email address) and I get an email that looks like this:

screen-shot-2016-11-04-at-10-53-49-pm

So the grade automatically gets put in and the parents see their responses to 1, 2, 3, and 5 (that’s this student’s joke about the mathematician).

I love love love these Weekly Summaries. The hardest part is getting students to do them. Usually it’s me who forgets to have them get the Chromebooks. It’s not something they like doing on their phones because they have to log in to their account and that takes longer than a microsecond so they’re just not into it.

But I get a lot of good feedback (like this student who was failing but was feeling great about the current topic and ended up raising her grade to a D in the next week!). And parents (except two that asked me to stop emailing them unless it was an emergency) have told me that they really like getting these. It’s a good conversation starter at home and it makes them feel like they are more in the loop about their child. I loved getting these comments at conferences and frequently get responses back from parents over the weekend with questions or comments so it definitely has helped my communication.

You may have noticed that the tweets aren’t seen by the parents. That’s because I curate the tweets to put on our class Twitter. I usually use one tweet per period. I have the Twitter feed on my class website and currently have 5 followers…but some students have said that they just look on my website. I also post pictures from class on the class Twitter. I haven’t gotten any parent comments about it yet. Honestly I don’t know if any look at it. I just keep putting reminders that it’s there when I send my unit emails and, if nothing else, it’s nice for me to chronicle the year.

J’espère que les parents apprécient les mises à jour.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Summaries and Class Twitter

  1. How do you get the grade into the email to parents?

    I have been thinking about a chapter summary before tests, but I like getting the feedback a little more regularly! Sharing the comments with parents helps them keep up on what the class is learning.

    Like

    • It’s kind of complicated but my grade book allows me to export to Excel, so then I copy that into the spreadsheet that houses all their names and parent email addresses. The form responses use =VLOOKUP to put the grade with the student response, CopyDown to make sure it also goes with following responses, and then FormMule puts that into the email that goes out.
      I’d be happy to go further into it with you if you want!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

