Planning a Graph Transformation Unit

After Thanksgiving, we will be MAP testing for two days and then will have 11 days to complete the last unit of the semester in Math 2. This would give 4 days of final exam review. It is what all the other Math 2 teachers have. I would like to plan this before Thanksgiving so I can have everything ready just in case something happens that means I can’t do MAP testing (because we all know that technology can be difficult at the worst times). This is what they will have to do on their test:

  • Graph a transformation on an exponential function
  • Use the graph of a function to evaluate f(#)
  • Graph a transformation on a radical function
  • Use a radical function model to find when the population reaches a number
  • Graph a piecewise linear function (no evaluating)
  • State the piecewise definition for an absolute value function
  • Graph a transformation of another graph
  • Perform operations on functions (with a word problem thrown in there)

The other teachers are going straight lecturing from the textbook, two days on each section, two days of review, test on day 11. I will say right out that I don’t like lecturing for 8 days in a row. I’m determined to make my students actually think about functions over these two weeks. Take into account I have 50 minute periods, a class set of Chromebooks that take roughly 8 minutes to take out, login, and put away, a class set of TI-84s, and students that have never graphed anything more than lines and parabolas in standard form. I also just had the tech department put Desmos Test Mode on my Chromebook cart so I’m hoping that I can just have students use that on the test but we’ll see if my department approves.

What I want to do is:

Day 1: Discover exponential function properties (something with Desmos would seem fitting – Marbleslides?), make sure to write down what we’ve found, which should be:

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 7.56.10 PM.png

Day 2: Practice graphing exponential functions

Day 3: Compare transformations on exponential functions to radical functions. Possibly make a DAB. They should know this at the end:

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 8.01.49 PM.png

Day 4: Oh wait, these rules can be used for any function. Practice graphing transformations on functions in general.

Day 5: Graphing piecewise functions – I had done Lisa’s http://www.teachesmath.com/?p=60 in the past but I think because I have way less time I’ll try Amy’s method http://squarerootofnegativeoneteachmath.blogspot.com/2011/05/color-coding-for-sketching-piecewise.html because it seems pretty straight forward and fun.

Day 6: Practice graphing piecewise, try to throw some other functions in there so they keep practicing those. If time, do some Graphing Stories because those are fun and actually make you think about math from something besides a worksheet, but don’t really have a link to the test so not sure I’ll feel like I can do them.

Day 7: Operations on Functions – I’m intrigued by this from Sarah: http://mathequalslove.blogspot.com/2016/02/operations-with-functions-notes-and.html

Day 8: Practice more operations on functions, and graphing

Day 9: Review -probably Quizizz because their test is all multiple choice and they like it and I like it

Day 10: Review – go over most missed Quizizz problems, go over questions from study guide, if time do another game, like maybe Quizlet.live or Deal or No Deal or something small and low-key.

Day 11: Test

To be honest, I’m pretty down in the dumps about this unit in general. I feel like it has the potential to be really great but with the time and the way the test was made and the pushback I get from doing anything besides the textbook I feel like it won’t be so awesome. Maybe I’m just being pessimistic. I am really starting to miss the freedom I had to build my own curriculum in my old school. But then I think back at how stressed I was planning for 4 classes and I don’t know what I’d rather have.

Je suis désolée pour le pessimisme de ce post. Je suis un peu frustrée avec ma situation en ce moment.

One thought on “Planning a Graph Transformation Unit

  1. Marissa – I like how you wrote about this process, saving some key parts of your own thoughts and feelings until the end. I’m intrigued about you saying “[this unit] has the potential to be really great.” I think your plans sound good and your goal of avoiding 8 days of lecture is a great one. It sounds like you are working hard to bring your own creativity and knowledge about being an educator into your classroom in the ways that it is possible at your school. That’s all we can do! The more you model the way you think education should happen, and keep inviting people into your classes, the better it will be. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

